The application period will run until June 30, 2020 the latest. The Artistic Board of the Festival will conduct a selection of movies for nominations, and the criteria will be determined in relation to the quality and originality of the score, song and sound. Only films with the production date from January 1st 2019 will be considered for nominations.

The Crystal Pine Award for best film scores and sound will be awarded in the following categories:

1. Best Original Score | Feature Film – up to 10 nominations
2. Best Original Score | Documentary Feature – up to 5 nominations
3. Best Original Score | Short film (live-action, documentary and animated) – up to 15 nominations
4. Best Original Score | Series – up to 5 nominations
5. Best Original Song | Feature Film – up to 5 nominations


6. Best Sound Mixing/Editing – up to 10 nominations

Special Crystal Pine Award will be awarded besides these categories for the authors who have composed the best music for the world’s best-known movies in the past year – up to 12 nominations.

The winning film in each category will be screened at ISFMF 2020. The winners will receive a free industry accreditation for ISFMF and will be supported with full accommodation and hospitality during the event time.



1. Music/Sound/Song from the film has to be produced from January 1st 2019. Selected films must be in accordance with the categories (feature films – 45 minutes and more, short films – 2 min to 44 min, etc.

2. The maximum of two composers shall be considered for their work on one film. In special circumstances, the third name may be added

3. One composer can submit as many works as she/he wants, however, no more than two films per category can be nominated

4. Eligible servers/links are Vimeo, YouTube or similar. Optionally, WeTransfer or similar download links may be submitted, but Vimeo/YouTube/etc will be considered first.



The application fee relates to the category: Best Original Score – Feature film 20$, Best Original Score – Documentary feature 18$, Best Original Score – Short film 18$, Best Original Score – Series 20$, Best Original Song – Feature Film 20$, Best Sound Mixing/Editing 18$.



Applications can be sent via ISFMF official web site or platforms Filmfreeway or Festhome.

Instructions for applications sent via ISFMF official web site: the sender must fill online entry form and send the link(s) with BOTH the film AND the score to the following e-mail address: After receiving your online entry form we will contact you and send you a PayPal invoice through which you will be able to make the payment of the fee.

For any question please contact mknezoci(at)

Good luck!


Board members:

Robert Townson – American producer and the V-President of Varese Sarabande, the largest film music record label in the world.

Mark Dornford-May – British/South-African director the Golden Bear Award winner at the Berlin Film Festival. Dornfornd-May and his company, including composer Charles Hazlewood, adapted the stage production of Georges Bizet’s opera Carmen to create the film U-Carmen eKhayelitsha with Pauline Malefane in the leading role. The film garnered a number of awards, including the Golden Bear for Best Film.

Michael Minkler – American sound mixer, the three time Oscar® winner with 11 nominations, has worked on Star Wars, JFK, Black Hawk Down, Chicago, Dreamgirls, Beauty and the Beast.

Randy Thom – A double Oscar® winner is one of the Hollywood’s most important and respected sound designers, with even 14 Oscar nominations and two wins. His masterful works include films like Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Forrest Gump, Contact, Cast Away, Harry Potter, The Polar Express, The Incredibles, War of the World, Ratatouille, How to Train Your Dragon, Flight and many more. Mr. Thom is a Director of Sound Design at Skywalker Sound, the biggest and most important sound workshop in the world, which is also a part of George Lucas’ Lucasfilm Company.

Richard King – Sound designer and the winner of three Academy Awards®, responsible for magnificent sound in Interstellar, The Dark Knight Rises, Inception, Thor, The Dark Knight, War of the Worlds, Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Master and Commander and Signs.

Jaco Van Dormael – Belgian award-winning director (Mr. Nobody, The Whole New Testament)

John Patrick Corigliano – American-Italian composer of classical music and a professor of music from Boston.

Ozren K. Glaser –  Croatian composer of orchestral music, motion picture scores and theater music. Glaser is also a founder and Artistic Director of the International Sound & Film Music Festival.


DISCLAIMER: ACADEMY AWARDS®, OSCAR® is the registered trademark and service mark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The prizes for Best Original Score can be given either in cash or in a equivalent value of products and services.